“Expérimentations”

Festival du Nouveau Cinema is a showcase of all types of cinema. They show everything from animated features to showcases of multiple experimental films like the ones we saw last Tuesday.

I think that the description for “Expérimentations” is spot on. The films certainly pushed the limits of my perception in an almost trance-like way. I might have added that the whole experience is a visual trip.

I would say that overall I enjoyed “Expérimentations”. I was captivated with a lot of the films but was a little bummed out that To The Wolf Of Madragoa didn’t play in its entirety. The only film I didn’t like was Workers Leaving the Job Site. The silence was unnerving and it seemed to drag on too long.

I do think that it was well curated, except for Workers Leaving the Job Site. It just seemed out of place in my opinion.

The one film that I remember the most was Masahiro Tsutani’s 2012 film Between Regularity and Irregularity. It stuck with me mainly because I was completely overwhelmed watching it and it was bordering on unpleasant. The film before it was long and pleasant and then Masahiro’s film came on and it felt like 1,000 volts running through my body. I almost wanted to look away but couldn’t because I knew I would probably never see this again and had to cherish it. The film was very modern, very digital and technical. I wasn’t quite sure what I was seeing at the time. I read the synopsis when I got home and the film was trying the emulate the firing of nerve cells. I loved the way he paired the sound with the sharp cuts. Every time the image cut it was like a punch. I felt like I was getting beaten up. After the first couple of minutes I was thinking to myself that a break from all this convulsion would be nice and then the smoke scenes started. It was perfect timing. I would love to see some other work by this film maker. Overall Between Regularity and Irregularity was the most memorable film for me.

Leave a Reply

